Detecting West Australian Gold
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Halo effect in rock

2 posters

Go down

Halo effect in rock Empty Halo effect in rock

Post by Daggs Sat 12 Dec 2015, 9:58 am

Does anybody know if the halo effect in a solid rock formation is more or less than in dirt for the same sized piece of gold??

Regards
Daggs

Daggs

Back to top Go down

Halo effect in rock Empty Re: Halo effect in rock

Post by Stingray Sat 12 Dec 2015, 8:58 pm

Daggs, I am no expert, but here are my thoughts.

Basically it would depend on the type of rock and type of gold. If the so called halo from a nugget is like rust coming out of a bit of steel, then:

I would doubt if there is any halo around primary gold in quartz. It is essentially impermable and every bit of gold comes out very shiny with no oxidation.

In the case of a nugget in a cement or conglomerate, which is essentially alluvial dirt gone hard, it would depend if the halo had formed before the material the nugget was sitting in was turned to stone.

If it is secondary or supergene then presumably there has been gold in solution so it could I guess.

Personally, I don't really think there is a halo around gold. Rusty steel - definitely. Gold - it would take millenia to dissolve and then it would have to stay in the same spot all that time. If there is a halo it would be minute.

Regards
Stingray

Stingray

Back to top Go down

Post by Daggs Sun 13 Dec 2015, 2:29 pm

Hi Stingray,
Thanks for your reply,
I have definitely seen the Halo effect a few times with targets that disappear when they have been removed from their resting place and are then difficult to find, (especially if they are small).

Here is an exert from the Minelab GPX5000 manual.
Halo Effect
After a metal object has remained undisturbed
in the soil for a considerable amount of time
a diffusion occurs around the object. This
has the effect of the object appearing to the