Detecting West Australian Gold
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Lets talk GPS

+2
toad
Bignuggs
6 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Lets talk GPS Empty Lets talk GPS

Post by Bignuggs Sat 02 Mar 2013, 5:43 pm

This is in the wrong section but I'll move it later. I'm no expert with a GPS coz I never use the sod of a thing.
To answer a question that has been put to me, "How do you record a location in Metric" and not Lats & Longs.
I'm no expert with a GPS but I have looked at my Oregan 550 and I can change how it reads. I think it means, if I mark a waypoint, it will show in metric. I think that's what it has done coz that is what it is showing. It's not showing Lats & Longs.
I've probably just answered my own question but if someone asks for metric readings, can I trust the GPS ?
Bignuggs
Bignuggs
Forum Admin

Back to top Go down

Lets talk GPS Empty Re: Lets talk GPS

Post by Guest Sat 02 Mar 2013, 5:45 pm

great mate --u have already confussed me and i havent got one--

regards
oneday

Back to top Go down

Post by Bignuggs Sat 02 Mar 2013, 6:20 pm

Sorry if I have confused people.
If I change how my GPS reads (metric), if I mark a waypoint, it shows as metric readings. My question is, can metric coords be trusted compared to lats and longs ?
Personally, I think it should be trusted. It was just a change of how it is reading but I would like some expert advice.
Bignuggs
Bignuggs
Forum Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by toad Sat 02 Mar 2013, 6:49 pm

I use UTM as I find that easiest.
toad
toad

Back to top Go down

Post by albo Sat 02 Mar 2013, 7:12 pm

me to Toad UTM , 1-100 maps , almost pinpoint precision, but then if you get a coord off someone you have to check the other guys settings true north , mag north , a few hundred metres in it.
albo
albo

Back to top Go down

Post by Bignuggs Sat 02 Mar 2013, 7:18 pm