Detecting West Australian Gold
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What type of detector?

3 posters

Go down

What type of detector? Empty What type of detector?

Post by whatsa Sun 02 Dec 2012, 9:30 pm

Hi,
I am new to all of this and in my initial reading/research of gold detectors ( as with every other new area)
has left me mired in sales / techno babble and I know somewhere in there is good advice.

I would like buy a gold detector but am unsure of models
or what would be good to learn on... but not grow out of too soon.
I saw the 5000s and others but not sure if it is just overkill for me.(yikes they are pricey.. but not outside of my options)
ie a good solid performer with basic presets and options to tweak but easily reset.(the doomsday button -> cancel button-lol)

I go camping a lot mostly crownland /forestry areas and plan to do a around the block extended trip.
so it would get a lot of use for about 1 year travelling and weekends holidays after that).

If you have some advice on particular models I would appreciate it
Thanks Owen

whatsa

Back to top Go down

What type of detector? Empty Re: What type of detector?

Post by toad Sun 02 Dec 2012, 9:43 pm

Perhap hire a 4500 or a 5000 for a week and see if you like detecting first off. If your pretty sure that you are going to like it, buy what you can afford. The later the model, generally the better your odds at finding some yellow. Well looked after detectors hold their price very well so after 12 months, if you pack it in, you won't have lost too much but hopefully you will have found some gold in the meantime and be bitten like the rest of us.