Detecting West Australian Gold
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

first time out find 9 Carrett ring

4 posters

Go down

first time out find 9 Carrett ring Empty first time out find 9 Carrett ring

Post by martinjsto Thu 10 Jan 2013, 11:57 am

Hi all.
I am new to prospecting and will be betting more serious this year, looking for a cheep starter detector I purchased a Garrett groundhog ADS a few days ago for next to nothing with a small coil and a large co-planer one and took it to the beach for a tryout. not much coins but a nice gold ring with a center stone and what looks like small diamonds around it.
I found lots of junk as expected and removed it all from the beach. not much on the dry sandy bit but i found the ring in the dunes near what looked like a small camping spot. lots of beer cans and tops also.
all in all, this is just what a first timer needs to spur the interest. The ring is probably only worth 30 or 40 dollars but the value is not important the old girl still found the gold and a few coins. what a great machine, now I need to learn about the TR mode and how to stop the wet sand setting the thing off (any info would be great) . I cant wait till 4pm to hit the beach again. thanks all. Very Happy
Martin
martinjsto
martinjsto
Forum Admin

Back to top Go down

first time out find 9 Carrett ring Empty Re: first time out find 9 Carrett ring

Post by Guest Thu 10 Jan 2013, 1:38 pm

Well done Martin, i hit the beach now n then for a dig, also found a 9ct ring on my 1st attempt but no rings since last year.
Here's some help for using your ADS mate.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Pete

Back to top Go down

Post by martinjsto Thu 10 Jan 2013, 2:18 pm