Detecting West Australian Gold
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What settings for 24x12 .

4 posters

Go down

What settings for 24x12 . Empty What settings for 24x12 .

Post by WifesNightmare Sat 07 Feb 2015, 2:58 pm

Gday fellow swingers.

I recently purchased a Nugget Finder 24x12 mono for my GPX 5K and am after some expert advice from you Pilbara locals
on what settings would be a balanced starting point for this coil in this Pilbara location.
Also, at what speed should I work this coil.

I am pretty new to this game and this machine so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

So far I have had a bit of luck with the 11"DD coil supplied but I think this is just beginners luck. lol!

Many thanks in advance.

WifesNightmare.

WifesNightmare

Back to top Go down

What settings for 24x12 . Empty Re: What settings for 24x12 .

Post by Banjo Sat 07 Feb 2015, 4:21 pm

Can't help you with settings mate but a 24 x 12 you might need to change your name to NightmareSpini Laughing

Banjo

Back to top Go down

Post by Wedgetail Sat 07 Feb 2015, 7:01 pm

He's right about the spinifex getting in the way. Even an 11 inch coil is very often hard to swing up there. That's one reason I rarely go to the Pilbara these days, that 'n bloody puff adders! My missus hates 'em and guess where they hide? Under the spini and as you step over the spini bush, ya get that "Slap, slaaap" on the back of yer jeans. Bingo, got ya! Bastards missed me a cuppla times at Nullagine. One was just too sleepy/

With the big coil, there's a lot of incoming receive signal to process, so:

Set on "Deep"

Set Motion (swing speed) on "Slow",,,,,,,,,and therefore move "Slow". No good being set on "Slow" and then tearing round like a greyhound. The machine won't be able to keep up. My estimate of "Slow" is less than one metre a second for a single swing, one way, of the coil.

Set Ground Balance on "Fixed" - check it often