Detecting West Australian Gold
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

setting up from scratch GPS GeoView

+5
martinjsto
Banjo
bungarra
Flying kiwi
decanfrost
9 posters

Go down

setting up from scratch GPS GeoView Empty setting up from scratch GPS GeoView

Post by decanfrost Sun 07 Apr 2013, 7:29 am

Hi,
Im new to technical aspect of my favourite pastime,detecting and after 137 years of walking around the bush have decided to seek advise on setting up a system the Technically more capable might be able to help me with.

I like google earth and alot of POI loaded here but my thoughts are such
Is it not possible to have realtime travel on all WA areas on geological maps?.
Obviously maps showi including 4wd tracks and would it be to hard with a overlay current pending lease es ect ?

Anyway need to get the ball rolling here and seek a simple fix.
As is google earth requires internet access out bush..difficuilt.But is good.
Geoview looks amazing ,cant work it out yet and is another programme ..inet access??!

Just thought with technology changing all the time is there not now a better combination setup to simplify all of this.
Any help appreciated.
Cheers
Decan jhgigfif
decanfrost
decanfrost

Back to top Go down

setting up from scratch GPS GeoView Empty Re: setting up from scratch GPS GeoView

Post by Flying kiwi Sun 07 Apr 2013, 10:10 am

Decan

mate i am no pro on geoview but you can do what you talk of on google earth pretty easly

1) upload your geo map to google earth as an image overlay
2) link your GPS to google earth to get real time tracking
3) increase the amount of "cache" google earth stores.

basicly if you zoom in and look at the area of interest while connected to the internet google earth will store that info in cache so you can access without connection later, your image overlays will be stores in GE anyway so no worries there.

good luck

cheers Tom

Flying kiwi

Back to top Go down